going off the griddle

purposeful living guidebook

DIY Gelatin Shampoo with Peppermint Tea

To all who are interested in making their own shampoo, I’d really encourage you to “try & try again”.  My first attempt at DIY shampoo was a fail. I found a recipe using coconut milk, Dr. Bronner’s liquid soap & oil but I used way too much oil & it was like washing my hair with salad dressing.  No matter how hard I shook it, I couldn’t get the ingredients to bind. Furthermore, the shampoo left a sticky residue on me & the tub. I felt grubby all day when I used it.  I almost gave up on making shampoo after this. I really needed to find a recipe for thick homemade shampoo before I broke down and bought a cheap & convenient bottle of Suave.

The best recipe I found was for thick shampoo.  Thick shampoo calls for Dr. Bronner’s liquid soap, baking soda, corn starch, Xantham gum & essential oil of your choice. Baking soda is very cleansing, it also lends some viscosity to the mix. Corn starch & Xantham gum are thickening agents.  Well, I couldn’t find Xantham Gum at my local supermarket so I had to improvise. That’s when I looked up “gelatin beauty ” and I found tons of articles about adding a packet of gelatin to regular shampoo to stretch your dollars and also articles about how gelatin is supposed to leave your hair feeling thick & luscious! Some beauty brands already market this as a special ingredient for thicker hair, so – I knew I found my secret ingredient. Depending on your hair type and preferences, you will eventually formulate your own recipe.  This one is mine!

*Side note, if you are vegan, you can also use Agar Agar in lieu of gelatin as a thickening ingredient. You can also use arrowroot instead of cornstarch to make the slurry if you are against the corn industry*

Yesterday, I made Peppermint Tea Gelatin Shampoo & used it this morning. I LOVE IT! The shampoo (aka $$) didn’t slip through my fingers because the consistency is gel like & the ingredients stay combined.  It’s also not greasy feeling. My hair looks & feels clean. There is no sticky residue on me or the tub this time around. Last but not least, the lather is good. It’s not quite as thick as the store bought kind, but enough to get me feeling squeaky clean. This recipe reminds me of Aubrey shampoo in how it lathers and cleans.

I’m really pleased with the results and I hope you will too.  I recommend this recipe for normal to oily hair.

  •  4 cups of water boiled
  • peppermint tea bag
  • 1 cup cold water
  • 1/4 cornstarch
  • 1/4 baking soda
  • 1 packet gelatin
  • 1/4 cup Dr. Bronner’s liquid Soap

 

  1. bring 5 cups of water & 1 peppermint tea bag to a boil in a large soup pot.
  2. in a separate cup, add cornstarch to 1/2 cup cold water to make a slurry, add this slurry to the boiling tea water.
  3. Boil tea water & slurry for a few minutes until the consistency looks slightly thick.
  4. turn off heat.
  5. add baking soda – caution! – the liquid will get very frothy once the baking soda gets dumped in (like a science class volcano), hence the reason for using a large soup pot and not a sauce pan.
  6. Whisk ingredients together well.
  7. in another separate cup, add 1 packet knox gelatin to 1/2 cup cold water until gelatin “blooms” [dissolves and thickens ups].
  8. add bloomed gelatin to the thickened tea water slurry, whisk.
  9. add Dr. Bronner Liquid soap, whisk.
  10. Whisk all ingredients together for a few minutes until well combined.
  11. Transfer liquid shampoo to your bottles while the ingredients are still warm and liquid like.  Store in refrigerator to set the shampoo into a gel like consistency.

Enjoy!

 

**UPDATE**

THE GEL LIKE CONSISTENCY IS BEST IF YOU KEEP THIS SHAMPOO COLD, IF YOU KEEP IT IN THE SHOWER, IT WILL GET LOOSER.  I LIKE USING A SQUIRT BOTTLE SO I CAN JUST SQUIRT THE SHAMPOO ON MY HEAD INSTEAD OF TRYING TO USE A PUMP BOTTLE, WHICH CAN GET MESSY & FRUSTRATING.  NEXT TIME I MIGHT TRY TO ADD A BIT MORE GELATIN OR INTRODUCE XANTHAM GUM OR AGAR AGAR TO THE RECIPE AS WELL.  AGAR AGAR IS APPEALING BECAUSE IT DOES NOT GET LOOSE AT ROOM TEMP LIKE GELATIN. FOR NOW, I HAVE AT LEAST 2 MONTHS WORTH OF SHAMPOO TO USE UP BEFORE I GET TO TRY AGAIN.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 19, 2014 by in BEAUTY, DIY.
