going off the griddle

purposeful living guidebook

How to make Lemon Verbena oil

I have many reasons for wanting to step away from the convenience of ready made beauty products. Slowing my contribution to landfill tops the list.  Avoiding chemicals that are bad for me & the environment comes next & last, I want to stop supporting big business. (Another bonus, I finally motivated to use the Lemon Verbena that grows in my back yard!).

In order to get this hobby off the ground, I did have to make some upfront investments.  So far, I’ve spent about $150 on the main ingredients for body lotion, shampoo & laundry detergent, bathroom/toilet cleaner, hand soap & dish soap.  I hope to provide metrics on this all later on in the year.  Anyway, it seems like I’ve already spent a lot, but according to all of the great blogs I’ve read, buying in bulk goes a really long way.

Here’s a really easy recipe for making oil infused with fresh lemon verbena.  Feel free to substitute this herb with any type you like.  I plan use this oil to make some body lotion & bar soap.

Ingredients:

  • Freshly chopped Lemon Verbena (I used almost 4 cups chopped)
  • Carrier Oil (I used organic sunflower oil)
How to infused oil

double boiler

Tools:

  • Double boiler or Crockpot
  • food processor (optional)

How to:

  • Chop the herbs pretty fine to release the scent
  • Combine the chopped herbs with oil in a double boiler or crock pot
  • Use enough oil to completely cover all of the herbs by about one inch
  • Simmer on low heat for a couple of hours.

Voila!  There you have some nice infused oil!

I will be infusing vinegar with Lavender next 🙂

how to infused oil

Food Processor attachment on my blender stick

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 10, 2014 by in BEAUTY.
